Skip to content
July 29, 2010 / suburbanxisle

Journey Man

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Though I helmed Audrey Magazine as its editor in chief, I occasionally flexed my storytelling muscles with a profile or two. When I received the invitation to attend the press junket for Ismail Merchant and James Ivory’s last film together, The White Countess, I couldn’t have been more excited. Though James Ivory wasn’t able to attend with the recent death of his longtime film partner, the film’s screenwriter, Kazuo Ishiguro, was on hand for brief 15-minute interviews in his hotel room at the luxe Beverly Wilshire Hotel. Of course, I was already familiar with Ishiguro’s famous The Remains of the Day, which Merchant Ivory set to the big screen, starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson. The famous author was an absolute gentleman, trying to make me and my photographer comfortable. He even gave us extra time for a more complete interview and some extra photos.

Leave a Reply

